A Fashionable Woman’s Prayer: 1892

Praying Woman, Harrison Fisher

Praying Woman, by Harrison Fisher

A FASHIONABLE WOMAN’S PRAYER.

Dear Lord, have mercy on my soul, and please let me have the French satin that I saw this morning, for, with black lace flounces and overskirt, that dress would be very becoming to me, I know.

If you grant me my request, please let me have a new black silk lace shawl also, dear Lord.

I kneel before Thee, to-night, feeling perfectly happy, for Madame Emilie has sent me home such a lovely bonnet! A most heavenly little bijou! composed of white satin, with coral ostrich tufts. For this favour I am feeling very grateful.

Give me, I pray Thee, a humble heart and a new green silk, with point lace trimmings. Let me not grow too fond of this vain and deceitful world, like other women, but make me exceedingly gentle and aristocratic. When the spring fashions come, let them suit my style of beauty, and let there be plenty of puffings, plaitings, and flounces, for I dearly love them all.

O, Lord, let business detain my husband at ___, for he is not wanted home at present. I wish to beome acquainted with the tall, dark-eyed foreigner who is staying at Colonel Longswallow’s opposite. Bring about an introduction, I beseech Thee, for Mrs. Longswallow will not.

Bless my children, and please send them a good nurse, for I have neither the time nor the inclination to look after them myself. And now, O Lord, take care of me while I sleep, and pray keep watch over my diamonds. Amen.

The Australian Journal, Volume 27, 1892

Mrs Daffodil’s Aide-memoire:  We can but admire the ruthless honesty of the fair petitioner. After all, “And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall set ye free.” [John 8: 32] It is a rare soul who has such clarity about her own motives. One expects that if the lady’s husband knew her true sentiments or had seen her substantial milliner’s bills, he would, indeed, set her free.

Mrs Daffodil invites you to join her on the curiously named “Face-book,” where you will find a feast of fashion hints, fads and fancies, and historical anecdotes.

Leave a Reply

